What Not to Read

In the last week or so, I’ve read two horrendously stupid books. Why I did this to myself, why I didn’t just put them down after the first idiotic chapter, I have no idea. Maybe because I bought them before I knew how bad they were, and therefore felt obligated to read them cover to cover.

I really hate to bash on the author of these books, because I completely understand the sweat and tears that go into writing. It’s just that…well, if you’re going to put forth the effort to write an entire book- not just one book, but TWO- wouldn’t it make sense to make sure it’s worth reading before you go and get it published?

Probably I should have realized, after hating the first book by this author, that I was likely to hate the second book by the same author. That would have been sensible.

I’ve never claimed to be sensible. Or I have, and nobody took me seriously (fair enough, judging by my recent insensibility).

Anyway, Kristin Harmel wrote How to Sleep With a Movie Star and The Blonde Theory. The titles alone should have sent up red flags all over the place, but I think that at the time I purchased the books, I was more attracted to the covers and finding an author with a similar name to my own.

That’s what I get for judging a book by its cover.

So, I cracked open the first book, and as I said, the first chapter was painfully dumb. I kept reading. The following chapters were worse. The entire story is based on the idea of “what if…a reporter got mixed up in an unprofessional relationship with a celebrity” and “what happens when a co-worker is jealous”. Oh, and “what if someone actually were to publish this crap, wouldn’t that be a hoot”.

The second book is based off the assumption that a successful lawyer who is a woman can’t find a man who wants to be with her, because all men everywhere are intimidated by women who have a brain inside their head, which causes the main character (a smart blonde lawyer, of course) to try out “the blonde theory”, which is little more than a major insult to blondes everywhere. The idea is that if the character behaves like an absolute moron and dresses like a hooker, men will like her better.

Those might even have been somewhat decent story ideas, had the author not turned them into cheesy, laughable (but not funny) rags.

It saddens me that I paid a total of $30 for such nonsense. I’ll have to re-read Pride and Prejudice, Gone With the Wind, and probably Lord of the Rings before I feel I’ve made up for my mistake.

Leave a comment